

204 E Street, N.E. Washington DC 20002 P: (202) 547-0229 www.womeninaersopace.org

Daphne Dador Vice President for Communications Release: WIA10-04

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

WOMEN IN AEROSPACE ANNOUNCES 2010 AWARD RECIPIENTS

August 27, 2010-Washington, D.C.-Women in Aerospace is proud to announce the winners of its 25th Annual Women in Aerospace Awards. This year, WIA will honor eight outstanding women for their contributions to the aerospace industry and to the advancement of women in the field. These women will be honored at a reception and dinner to be held on Tuesday, October 26, 2010, at the Ritz Carlton Hotel in Arlington, Virginia.

The 2010 recipients are:

ACHIEVEMENT AWARD: JIII Lynette Hanna Prince, Aerospace Engineer, NASA Langley Research Center, Hampton, Virginia, in recognition of her extraordinary work in the development of autonomous aerobraking and her outstanding contributions to planetary mission atmospheric flight.

AEROSPACE AWARENESS AWARD: Elizabeth Beck, Program Planning Specialist, NASA Space Operations Mission Directorate, Washington, D.C., in recognition of her outstanding dedication and innovative contributions to building public awareness of aerospace programs.

AEROSPACE EDUCATOR AWARD: Professor Alison Flatau, Associate Dean and Professor, University of Maryland, College Park, Maryland, for her exceptional leadership and dedication to aerospace education and for her unwavering commitment to the advancement of women in the Aerospace Engineering field.

INTERNATIONAL ACHIEVEMENT AWARD: Donna Collins, Director, Program Management, Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Company, Fort Worth, Texas, in recognition of her significant and lasting contribution to the international aerospace business and her commitment to mentoring and professional development for women in aerospace.

LEADERSHIP AWARD Co-Recipient: Lesa B. Roe, Director, Langley Research Center, Hampton, Virginia, for her extraordinary leadership in delivering innovative solutions to meet the nation's aerospace and atmospheric science challenges and her dedication to inspiring current and future generations of women.

LEADERSHIP AWARD Co-Recipient: Mina V. Samii, Vice President, Computer Sciences

Corporation, Lanham, Maryland, for groundbreaking contributions to aerospace engineering and technology, leadership in support of the nation's civilian space objectives, and service as a role model and mentor to women in aerospace.

LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD: Nancy Grace Roman, Chief Astronomer (Retired), NASA, in recognition of her trailblazing role in astronomy and government leadership, and for her work to make the Hubble Space Telescope a reality.

OUTSTANDING MEMBER AWARD: Lori Garver, Deputy Administrator, NASA, Washington, D.C., for her tremendous contribution to Women in Aerospace through leadership and participation, and for her passion and dedication to opening the high frontier of space to the everyday person.

Individuals and organizations interested in participating in the awards dinner on Tuesday, October 26th, 2010 at the Ritz Carlton Hotel in Arlington, Virginia can find more information <u>here.</u>

For specific questions, please contact WIA at info@womeninaerospace.org or call 202-547-0229.

####

Women in Aerospace (WIA) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to expanding women's opportunities for leadership and to increasing their visibility within the aerospace community. To learn more about WIA, visit <u>www.womeninaerospace.org</u>